Resources for Businesses and Employees Affected by the Economic Impacts of COVID-19
Many resources are being developed to help business owners and workers with the economic impacts of the current COVID 19 situation. Please consider this list a work in progress that will be updated as new information arrives. If your business-related question or concern isn’t addressed in the information below, you can call the Contra Costa Business Hotline, staffed by the Workforce Development Board, at 833-320-1919, Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM-5 PM.
If you have a question about if your business is an "essential service," please carefully review the latest Health Order, and if your specific question is not addressed, contact our Coronavirus Call Center at 1-844-729-8410, 8 AM to 5 PM. Assistance provided in English, Spanish and interpreters for over 200 different languages.
Unemployment Relief for Reduced Work Hours or Layoffs visit State of California Labor & Workforce Development Agency
Paid Sick Leave and other Labor Law Questions please visit State of California Department of Industrial Relations
Artist: $1,000 cash grant through the California Art’s Council
California’s Statewide Jobs Clearinghouse: please visit OnwardCa.org
Training: Free online career courses through Contra Costa Employment and Human Services Department Workforce Development Board (wdbccc.com)
For Business Owners
Contra Costa County Employment and Human Service Department (EHSD) Workforce Development Board (WDB) has two valuable resources:
- Rapid Response Virtual Info Sessions – Info & resources re: unemployment insurance, health benefits, Job Center and more. Every Thursday at 2 p.m. starting May 7th. Register at www.WDBCCC.com.
- Human Resources Hotline for Employers (note: this is separate from WDB’s Small Business hotline). Callers get guidance on California labor laws, hiring/firing processes, paid sick leave & FMLA, overtime, employee handbooks, remote workers, harassment prevention, etc. Call 1 (888) 599-7645, Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. More info at www.WDBCCC.com.
Small Business Administration Economic Injury Disaster Loan Program provides up to $2 million in Federal loan assistance. Ask your financial institution about the Paycheck Protection Program.
These programs may no longer be available due to high demand. Please check the SBA website regularly for updates.
Avoiding Layoffs through a Work Sharing Program administered by the State of California Employment Development Department
Rapid Response (Imminent Layoff Response) please email Charles Brown III at the Workforce Development Board of Contra Costa County
Building and Planning: Call 925-674-7200 to find out how to submit permit applications to the Contra Costa County’s Department of Conservation and Development. Special procedures are in place, and applicants are encouraged to review the latest information online. Other department services are also available during this time although our offices are not open to the public.
State of California Franchise Tax Board and U.S. Internal Revenue Service: 2019 tax filing and payments were due on July 15, 2020.
State of California I-Bank Disaster Loan Guarantee program for businesses with 1-750 employees.
State of California Payroll Tax Assistance: Employers experiencing a hardship as a result of COVID-19 may request up to a 60-day extension of time from the EDD to file their state payroll reports and/or deposit state payroll taxes without penalty or interest. A written request for extension must be received within 60 days from the original delinquent date of the payment or return.
For questions, employers may call the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center.
- Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada: 1-888-745-3886
- Hearing impaired (TTY): 1-800-547-9565
- Outside the U.S. or Canada: 1-916-464-3502
Other State of California Business Taxes: Taxpayers can apply online for payment extensions
Federal Reserve Main Street Lending Program: The U.S. Federal Reserve announced its Main Street Lending Program will be pivoting to provide COVID-19 economic crisis relief to medium-sized businesses, with loans starting at $500,000. Program details will be announced online, but the loans are anticipated to be low interest (not forgivable).
Last updated: April 1, 2021